SUPPLEMENTS: I NEVER LEAVE THEM OUT

There’s a huge seesaw battle on the significance supplements should play in a person’s regimen.

I eat clean.

My plates are colorful.

My water intake is plenty.

And I don’t count calories.

However, I was curious to see what the outcome would be if I used About.com’s Calorie Count Meter.

My Report Card

By the end of this day I earned a B+ rating.

Why?

Well, the end result read like this:

Carbs = Too Low
Sat Fat = Too High
Fiber = Too High
Vit A = Too Low
Calcium = Too Low
Iron = Too Low

(only noted the “poor” grading)

Not being an expert on nutrition, I reflect my daily meals selection, and from what I can recall I did really well by my own standards. 

So, where did I go wrong?

As I mentioned yesterday, “Through the hustle and bustle of extracurricular activities, parent-teacher conferences and homework, making sure we are getting proper nutrition can be difficult.”

My OpinionProductLine2011

Unfortunately, even if you’re eating right, you’re still probably not getting enough vitamins and nutrients from your diet for optimum health. Many of today’s foods don’t pack the nutritional punch they did years ago. According to a report published in the Journal of HortScience, the average vegetable found in today’s supermarket is anywhere from 5% to 40% lower in minerals (including magnesium, iron, calcium and zinc) than those harvested just 50 years ago.

“Most people do not consume an optimal amount of all vitamins by diet alone. It appears prudent for all adults to take vitamin supplements,” according to the statement in JAMA. Physicians are paying attention.

Did you know that 72 percent of physicians personally use dietary supplements?

Obviously, supplementing is an ideal road map for health.

About foodfrommyheart

Guided by the primary principle People First. Likewise, motivated by 5 Core Values: Quality, Trust, Integrity, Changing Lives, & Giving Back.

Posted on January 25, 2012, in Diabetes, Energy, Nutrition, Prevention, SOY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave Your Thoughts

